Seattle Mariners are the only baseball team that has never been to the World Series. Likewise, five other teams have never won the World Series.

Colorado Rockies and Milwaukee Brewers had just one World Series appearance in 2007 and 1982 respectively. Moreover, Tampa Bay Rays, Texas Rangers, and San Diego Padres have made a couple of appearances. 

Milwaukee Brewers who were part of the AL East Division have never made it to the World Series after joining the National League in 1998.

These are the only six teams to have never won the World Series in MLB history and have always felt short of winning on the biggest stage.

With the 2023 regular season already in play since March 30, the teams will be looking to secure a postseason berth in the hope of winning their first-ever championship.

MLB Teams Without a Championship are:

  • Colorado Rockies
  • San Diego Padres
  • Tampa Bay Rays
  • Texas Rangers
  • Seattle Mariners
  • Milwaukee Brewers

Colorado Rockies

Colorado Rockies are one of the MLB teams to never win a World Series. Colorado are in a 30-year-long drought since its establishment in 1993.

They made their sole appearance on the big stage in 2007. The member of the National League West has made five Wild Card appearances in 1995, 2007, 2009, 2017, and 2018.

The last time the Rockies made it to the championship was in 2007.
Source : facebook

Colorado have an NL Penannt to their name in 2007 and eventually lost to the Boston Red Sox in four straight games in the championship.

This was the best season for the Rockies in their history and their last appearance in the postseason was in 2018 after they defeated the Chicago Cubs in the Wild Card game and lost to the Brewers in the NLDS.

Fast forward to the year 2023, the Rockies are yet to add a trophy since 2007 and have no Division titles to their name as of yet.

Milwaukee Brewers

Milwaukee Brewers are among the other teams to never win a World Series. They made their sole appearance in the championship back in 1982.

The Brewers won two AL East Division titles in 1981 and 1982 before they made a move to the central division of the National League in 1998.

Brewers coach Craig Counsell made the record for most games managed in franchise history.
Source : instagram

Since making the move, Milwaukee has made six postseason appearances finishing the regular season as NL Central Division Champions three times in 2011, 2018, and 2021, and clinched three wild card berths in 2008, 2019, and 2020.

The Brewers would eventually lose the NLDS in 2008 and 2021 along with both the NLCS games in 2011 and 2018 and lost their Wild Card Series games in 2019 and 2021.

San Diego Padres

MLB teams without World Series wins are San Diego Padres who have appeared twice (1984, 1998) in the championship but have never won it.

The Pads, established in 1969 has two MLB Pennants in 1984 and 1998, and five NL West titles in 1984, 1996, 1998, 2005, and 2006. They compete in the National League West Division and have two Wild Card berths in 2020 and 2022.

 San Diego has not made the best of starts to the 2023 season.
Source : twitter

The 1984 and 1998 seasons were the best for the Padres as they won the NLCS and reached the NLCS in 2022 but eventually lost to the Phillies.

San Diego and Fernando Tatis Jr will be looking for a much better season and hopefully will win its first-ever championship in the coming years.

Seattle Mariners

Seattle Mariners has the longest MLB world series droughts. They have never appeared in a World Series despite playing 47 seasons since 1977.

The Mariners have three American League West Division titles in 1995, 1997, and 2001 and two Wild Card berths in 2000 and 2022.

Ichiro Suzuki was a distinguished name for the Mariners.
Source : pinterest

Seattle are yet to win the ALCS in their history since their establishment in 1977 and till 1994, their best finish to the season was a 3rd place finish.

They also hold an unwanted record in MLB with the longest drought to appear in playoff games, i.e. 20 seasons before securing a berth in 2022.

Despite legendary players like Ken Griffey Jr, Felix Hernandez, Ichiro Suzuki, and Alex Rodriguez, among many others playing for the franchise over the years, they have been unable to lift the silverware. 

Tampa Bay Rays

Tampa Bay Rays are also amongst the teams without a World Series win. Tampa made a couple of appearances since its establishment in 1998.

The Rays have made it to the championship in 2008 and 2020, and have four Wild Card berths to their names in 2011, 2013, 2019, and 2022.

Rays pitcher Tyler Glasnow at the Tropicana Field on May 27, 2023.
Source : instagram

They have also won the AL East Division titles four times in 2008, 2010, 2020, and 2021 and will look to add their first championship win in 2023.

The younger club does not have much history like the other clubs since it only started participating in 1998 but has shown promise in its short history by qualifying for the playoff eight times.

Texas Rangers

The Texas Rangers have fallen short on the big stage on two consecutive occasions in 2010 and 2011 after bagging the World Series berth.

Rangers in their history since 1972 after they were renamed the Texas Rangers have two AL Pennants to their name in 2010 and 2011 and seven AL West Division titles in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2010, 2011, 2015, and 2016.

The Rangers have made a steady start to the 2023 season.
Source : twitter

They also managed to secure a Wild Card berth in 2012 and lost the ALWC game and from 2017-2022, the best they have finished is at 3rd place.

Their last playoff appearance was in 2016 and looking at their last six seasons, the drought does not seem to end any time soon for the Rangers.