Rick Allen is the lead NBC Sports NASCAR announcer. Allen calls play by play action across both the NASCAR Cup Series and the Xfinity Series.

The final ten NASCAR races are scheduled to be broadcasted on NBC. There are 26 races in a regular series and the first 16 were broadcasted on Fox Network.

NBC will also broadcast ten additional races, which are the NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs. It will share the playoff races with USA Network as they too will be broadcasting after the end of the regular season.

The NBC broadcasting team has highly experienced analysts and commentators in their team. In addition, the network also boasts a strong team of pit reporters to provide the viewers with real-time details.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. joined in 2018 and is the newest member of the booth. Since there are four in total, they have two booths for each race and two commentators per booth.

The 2022 season was the 5th consecutive year for Allen, Letarte, and Burton. They are all exceptional callers with a long history in motorsport. Likewise, Mike Bagley is also a commentator for the radio-style broadcast. Bagley has been working with the NBC Sports network since 2017.

The capable and experienced broadcasters make the viewing more interesting as they weigh in on their expertise and engage with the fans.

NBC Sports NASCAR Commentators List

The NBC NASCAR announcers 2023 are:

  • Rick Allen - lap-by-lap announcer
  • Jeff Burton - color commentator
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. - color commentator
  • Steve Letarte - color commentator

Jeff Burton and Dale Earnhardt Jr. make time for a selfie during the Xfinity Series broadcast
Source : twitter

Rick Allen (2015-present)

Rick Allen is the play-by-play announcer at NBC Sports. Allen is the lead race announcer and also happens to be a voice-over artist.

He was also a play-by-play caller for Fox Sports from 2003-2014. He called for the NASCAR Camping Truck Series and ARCA Racing Series on SPEED and then on Fox Sports 1.

Jeff Burton (2015-present)

Burton is a former racer with 695 car races in his 22-year-long career. Jeff recorded 21 wins, 254 Top Ten finishes, and six pole positions.

Jeff Burton was to become an analyst in 2015 for NBC after Sam Flood, the producer of NBC Sports Network in December 2013, announced it.

Since then, Burton has been part of the commentary team and is still employed as a racing commentator for the sports network.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2018-present)

Earnhardt Jr. is a professional car racer who recently competed in the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2022. Dale last raced in the Cup Series in 2017.

He is the son of Dale Earnhardt Sr. who is a seven-time NASCAR Cup Series Champion. Earnhardt Jr. has accumulated 26 Cup Series wins, 260 Top Ten finishes, and 15 pole positions.

In the Xfinity Series, he has 24 wins, 94 Top Tens, and ten pole positions. In addition, he won the Xfinity Series Championship in 1998 and 1999.

Steve Letarte (2015-present)

Steve Letarte is a former NASCAR crew chief. Letarte is also a consultant for NASCAR and Truck Series team, Spire Motorsports. 

He started his crew career with Hendrick Motorsport in 1995. Steve later became a crew chief for the team in 2005 for the No. 24 car of Jeff Gordon, one of the richest F1 drivers.

In 2011, Letarte became the crew chief for Dale Earnhardt Jr.'s No. 88 car. Steve retired in 2014 after two decades with the team.

Leigh Diffey (2015-present)

Leigh Diffey is a play-by-play commentator at NBC Sports. Diffey takes charge as the lead commentator when Rick Allen is not available. 

Leigh has been calling for Sprint Cup Series and Xfinity Series in the past. Moreover, he has also covered the 2014 Winter Olympic Games.

NBC NASCAR Broadcasters

NBC NASCAR broadcast team includes:

  • Marty Snider 
  • Kyle Petty
  • Dale Jarrett
  • Brad Daugherty

Marty Snider is the host of the NBC NASCAR Pre Race show. Moreover, Snider also serves as a pit reporter for the Cup and Xfinity Series.

NASCAR on NBC broadcasted the Ally 400 race on June 26
Source : twitter

Kyle Petty (2015-present)

Kyle Petty is a former racing driver who has competed in over 800 races in his career. He is an analyst and commentator for NASCAR on NBC.

Kyle is the son of legendary racer Richard Petty. He appears on multiple NBC NASCAR-related shows with involvement in all the broadcasts.

Dale Jarrett (2015-present)

Jarrett was three races short of competing in 1000 races in his career. The former race driver has tons of experience and is one of the perfect candidates to be a broadcaster at NBC.

The NASCAR Hall of Famer has also previously called for ESPN as a booth announcer. Dale Jarrett has been with the NBC network since 2015.

Brad Daugherty (2020-present)

Former NBA star Brad Daugherty (#1 pick in the 1986 Draft) is the co-owner of the JTG Daugherty Racing team of the NASCAR Cup Series.

Daugherty relished a decade-long basketball career with the Cleveland Cavaliers. Brad joined the NBC network as a NASCAR analyst in 2020.

NBC NASCAR Reporters

Pit reporters for NBC NASCAR coverage are:

  • Marty Snider
  • Dave Burns
  • Parker Kligerman

Marty Snider has been part of NBC Sports for a long time. He started in 1999 and was a pit reporter till 2006. Snider again joined hands with NASCAR on NBC in 2015 and has been employed as a pit reporter to date.

Dave Burns has experience as a motorsport analyst for over 25 years. He also happens to be another lap-by-lap caller for NASCAR on NBC. 

Burns was also a fellow pit reporter with Snider from 2001-2006. In November 2014, Burns signed with NBC and has been with them ever since.

Full-time racer in the Xfinity Series, Kligerman is also an enthusiastic pit reporter
Source : twitter

Parker Kligerman is a stock car racing driver who last raced on June 24, 2023, in the Tennessee Lottery 250 at Nashville Superspeedway. Kigerman is a full-time racer in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

Apart from racing, Parker is also a pit reporter for NBC. After losing his full-time ride in the NASCAR Cup Series, he joined NBC in 2015 for a year. Later in 2017, Kligerman again joined NBC and has been a pit reporter ever since, along with competing in the Xfinity Series.

The other pit reporters of NASCAR on NBC are:

  • Kim Coon
  • Dillon Welch

The pit reporters for NASCAR Xfinity Series are:

Some FAQs

Who Are The Nascar Announcers Today?

NBC Sports NASCAR Announcers are: 

  1. Rick Allen (Play by Play) 
  2. Steve Letarte (Color Commentator) 
  3. Jeff Burton (Color Commentator) 
  4. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Color Commentator)