Butterfield Bermuda Championship past winners include Brendon Todd, Brian Gay, Lucas Herbert, and Séamus Power. The winner will earn $1,170,000.

This is the second last official event of the 2022-2023 PGA Tour season, and a lot is at stake. Every golfer wants to finish inside the top 125 to secure their place for next year.

The Bermuda Championship made its debut on the PGA Tour in October 2019. The tournament is held at the Port Royal Golf Course in Southampton Parish, Bermuda.

The par-71 course has a length of 6,828 yards or 6,244 meters. The full-field tournament will once again have a prize fund of $6.5 million, similar to the previous two editions.

Each edition of the Bermuda Championship has a different winner and will most likely have a new winner this year. For now, let us see who the previous winners were.

Séamus Power - 2022

Source : instagram

Irish golfer Séamus Power is the defending champion but will not participate in the title defense. He chose to take time off from one of the last events of the Fall series.

Power grabbed his second PGA Tour win on October 30, 2022, when he beat Thomas Detry by a single stroke to win the 2022 Butterfield Bermuda Championship.

The 36-year-old had won his first PGA Tour event back on July 18, 2021, when he won the Barbasol Championship. It took him almost a decade to win his first event on tour since he turned professional.

Power started the first three rounds well and was on top of the leaderboard. His final round was not as good as his first three but he still picked up a narrow win.

  • Round 1 - 65
  • Round 2 - 65
  • Round 3 - 65
  • Round 4 - 70
  • Total - 19-under 265

The total purse for the event was $6.5 million, and Power took home $1,170,000 as the winner's share.

Séamus Power has seven professional wins in his career and is yet to win a major championship. His best finish in the majors was a T9 finish at the 2022 PGA Championship.

He is currently ranked 69th in the OWGR, and since joining the tour in 2017, he has played 160 events and recorded 18 top-10 finishes.

Lucas Herbert - 2021

Source : twitter

The 2021 Butterfield Bermuda Championship winner was Lucas Herbert of Australia. Herbert won his first PGA Tour with the event in October by a single stroke.

The Australian golfer beat Danny Lee and Patrick Reed who were tied for second. Herbert took home $1,170,000 as the winner's share from the $6.5 million purse.

Herbert turned professional in 2015 and has taken part in 56 PGA Tour events with 3 top-10 finishes. He has four professional wins in his career with three of them coming in the European Tour.

Although he went on to win the 2022 event, Herbert did not have the best of starts in the first round. He quickly made up for it in the following rounds.

The Bermuda Championship 2021 Leaderboard leader had scores of:

  • Round 1 - 70
  • Round 2 - 65
  • Round 3 - 65
  • Round 4 - 69
  • Total - 15-under 269

Lucas Herbert will be part of the field that comprises 132 individuals. He is currently ranked 65th in the world.

Brian Gay - 2020

Source : twitter

The former Florida Gators golf team member and NCAA Champion in 1993 turned professional in 1994. Brian Gay has five event wins on the PGA Tour and the 2020 Bermuda Championship is his most recent.

Gay had to fight hard for his victory as he beat Wyndham Clark in a playoff. It was his first win in seven years since he won the Humana Challenge in 2013. He has a total of 14 professional wins in his career.

The 51-year-old has not made it to the top 10 in the majors and his T20 finish in the PGA Championship (2008) and U. S. Open (2018) are his best finishes.

The purse for the event was not as high as it currently is and was set at $4 million. Brian Gay took home 720,000 as his share of the total purse for winning.

The 2020 Bermuda Championship winning score for Brian Gay:

  • Round 1 - 70
  • Round 2 - 68
  • Round 3 - 67
  • Round 4 - 64
  • Total - 15-under 269

Brendon Todd - 2019

Source : instagram

Brendon Todd won his second PGA Tour event in November 2019, winning the inaugural Bermuda Championship. He beat fellow countryman Harry Higs by a four-stroke margin.

The 2005 National champion with the Georgia Bulldogs turned professional in 2007. He began his golf journey with the Nationwide Tour (Korn Ferry Tour) in 2008 and earned his PGA Tour spot for the 2009 season.

Todd has played 278 events in his career with three PGA tour wins and finished as runners-up twice. He won his first event in May 2014 when he won the HP Byron Nelson Championship, beating Mike Weir.

He also went on to win his third PGA Tour event, the Mayakoba Golf Classic, two weeks after winning the Bermuda Championship. Todd will feature in this year's edition again and is among the favorites to win it again.

Let us take a look at his winning scores in the first edition of the championship:

  • Round 1 - 68
  • Round 2 - 63
  • Round 3 - 67
  • Round 4 - 62
  • Total - 24-under 260

Brian Todd's game is suited perfectly for this particular tournament. It will not surprise him to clinch a famous victory once again.

Butterfield Bermuda Championship TV Schedule

Source : twitter

The 2023 Butterfield Bermuda Championship TV schedule has the Golf Channel carrying the three-hour live coverage duties from Thursday to Sunday.

  • Thursday, November 9 - 1-4 p.m. (ET)
  • Friday, November 10 - 1-4 p.m. (ET)
  • Saturday, November 11 - 11 a.m. (ET)
  • Sunday, November 12 - 11 a.m. (ET)

Golf fans can also stream the coverage of the tournament on Peacock as they too, will cover all four days. The streaming service will provide viewers with simulcasts of the Golf Channel's coverage.

The 2023 Butterfield Bermuda Championship field is all set with 132 players. Defending champion Séamus Power will be missing out on the tournament.

With the golf season ending this month, players will be looking to go all out and secure their spot on the PGA Tour for the upcoming season.

2023 Butterfield Bermuda Championship 2023 Odds

GolferOdds to Win
Adam Scott+1600
Brendon Todd+1800
Thomas Detry+2000
Lucas Glover+2000
Taylor Pendrith+2200
Alex Smalley+2200
Akshay Bhatia+2200
Lucas Herbert+2200
Ben Griffin+2500
Alex Noren+2500

Source : twitter

Adam Scott and Akshay Bhatia are among the most recognized players in the field of players for the tournament. Scott is also the favorite to win the event with Todd not far behind.

The tournament will decide the fate of many players for the 2024 season, and the 1st Tee is scheduled for 5:55 a.m. on Thursday.