Big 12 basketball teams in NCAA tournament are 1. Kansas Jayhawks 2. Texas Longhorns 3. Kansas State Wildcats 4. Baylor Bears and more.

Jayhawks, Longhorns, Wildcats, Baylor, TCU, Iowa State Cyclones, and West Virginia are the seven Big 12 Teams in NCAA Tournament 2023.

Big 12 Conference, a member of Div 1 athletics, has a stature for being among the most competitive in college basketball. The conference has often produced strong teams that do well in the playoffs.

During the regular season, games between strong opponents like Kansas and Texas or Wildcats and Oklahoma State are more often electric.

Big 12 Basketball Champions By Year List:

  • Texas Longhorns - 2023
  • Kansas Jayhawks - 2022
  • Texas Longhorns - 2021
  • Iowa State Cyclones - 2019
  • Kansas Jayhawks - 2018
  • Lowa State Cyclones - 2017

Kansas Jayhawks - 1 seed

Is Kansas In The Big 12? Jayhawks have been one of the elite college basketball teams in the Big 12 Conference with six overall national titles. 

Kansas has played a key role in the league's basketball since its founding in 1996 and has established itself as one of the most successful programs in conference history.

The Jayhawks have 32 straight appearances in the NCAA Tournament, which is the NCAA record for most consecutive appearances.

Jalen Wilson has been with the Jayhawks since 2019.
Source : facebook

Some of the well-known players from the Jayhawks are Clyde Lovellette, Wilt Chamberlain, Jo Jo White, Danny Manning, Raef LaFrentz, Paul Pierce, Nick Collison, Kirk Hinrich, Mario Chalmers, Andrew Wiggins, and Joel Embiid

In 2008, ESPN ranked Kansas second among the top programs in the modern era of college basketball. The Jayhawks have the longest ongoing streak in Division I men's basketball, having qualified for the NCAA tournament 30 times in a row.

Texas Longhorns - 2 seed

Texas Longhorns are the only Big 12 Conference men's basketball team to have more wins and a higher win percentage than Kansas.

The Longhorns have won a total of 28 conference titles and have been in the NCAA tournament 37 times. It became sixth among Division I men's basketball programs in terms of total NCAA Tournament games won without winning the championship during the 2019-20 season. 

23 year old Timmy Allen plays forward for the Texas Longhorns.
Source : twitter

Longhorns basketball was established in 1906 under the leadership of Magnus Mainland, a Scotsman. The only players from the Longhorns to receive at least one National Player of the Year award are T. J. Ford and Kevin Durant.

Some of the prominent names on their current roster for the 2023 season are Alex Anamekwe, Dylan Disu, Brock Cunningham and Cole Bolt.

The Longhorns have participated five times in the National Invitation Tournament (NIT) and they have an 11-3 combined record. They clinched the NIT Championship in 1978 and 2019.

Kansas State Wildcats - 3 seed

The most recent NCAA basketball tournament Kansas State Wildcats participated in was in 2023, under the tutelage of coach Jerome Tang

The Wildcats won the school's first two major conference championships in 1917 and 1919 when the program's first matches were held.

Following the 2022–23 season, Kansas State has won 19 regular-season conference championships with an overall record of 1,717–1,222.

Markquis Nowell of the Wildcats won the 2023 Bob Cousy award.
Source : instagram

The greatest season in school history may have been 1959 when the team noticed the year ranked first in both the final Associated Press Poll and Coaches Poll.

Bruce Weber's appointment as head coach was announced in 2012, and six years later the Wildcats won the conference championship in 2018-19. In Weber's seven seasons, Kansas State participated in the NCAA tournament five times, reaching the Elite Eight in 2018.

The Wildcats have won nine conference tournament championships, 19 regular-season conference championships, and 36 All-Americans in total.

Baylor Bears - 3 seed

Baylor Bears finished fourth under the tutelage of Scott Drew in the Big 12 Basketball Standings 2023 with a conference record of 11-7.

Baylor plays its home games at Ferrell Center. Since the Big 12 was founded, they have won more series than TCU, Texas Tech, and West Virginia.

In 1907, Luther Burleson, who was also the football coach at Baylor, led the school's first basketball squad. During the 2019–2020 season, Baylor men's basketball had a perfect record against all opponents from the conference.

Adam Michael Flagler while playing for the Baylor Bears.
Source : twitter

The Bears initially participated in the NCAA tournament in 2011, and they advanced all the way to the Elite Eight before losing to eventual national champion Kentucky.

They won their first-ever NCAA Championship in 2021, finishing up a remarkable season, reaching the pinnacle of collegiate success.

TCU Horned Frogs - 6 seed

TCU Horned Frogs has participated in the Big 12 Conference since 2012. Hall of Famer Jamie Dixon has been in charge of the team since 2016.

TCU has also participated in competitions held by the Mountain West Conference, Conference USA, Western Athletic Conference, and Southwest Conference. 

Since their first appearance in 1968, the TCU Horned Frogs have participated in March Madness. Although they had several decades of success, the team has shown impressive growth and improvement under head coach Jamie Dixon.

Emanuel Miller is a collegiate player for the Horned Frogs.
Source : facebook

Dixon spent 13 years as the head coach of Pitt, where he earned four national coach of the year awards, before moving back to Fort Worth to become the 22nd head basketball coach of TCU.

The Horned Frogs made their third tournament appearance in 2019, which highlighted their consistency and development as a Big 12 team. 

TCU participated in the 2022 NCAA tournament and they won an NCAA tournament game for the first time in 35 years by defeating Seton Hall 69-42 in the opening round.

lowa State Cyclones - 6 seed

Iowa State Cyclones compete in the Big 12 Conference of NCAA Division I. T. J. Otzelberger is the current head coach of the Cyclones.

Iowa has developed an excellence-oriented culture over the years under the direction of renowned coaches like Johnny Orr and Fred Hoiberg.

It has led to the development of several great players who have gone on to have successful careers at both collegiate and professional levels. 

6 feet 4 inches tall Kalscheur is a premier player for the Cyclones.
Source : twitter

Iowa has become the Conference tournament champions 6 times, with their triumphs coming in 1996, 2000, 2014, 2015, 2017, and 2019.

Some of the prominent names on the Cyclones roster in 2023 include Caleb Grill, Conrad Hawley, Gabe Kalscheur, Tamin Lipsey, and others.

West Virginia Mountaineers - 9 seed

West Virginia Mountaineers is a member of the Big 12 Conference. They have made 31 appearances in National Collegiate Athletics Association.

Head coach Bob Huggins has been leading the team since 2007. Mountaineers' best achievement in the NCAA tournament is runner-up in 1959.

Their highest score point is 132 against Alaska-Fairbanks in 1994, while the largest victory for West Virginia came against Salem College. 

Joe Toussaint at the basketball court during game time on January 19, 2023.
Source : facebook

As one of the Big 12 Teams In March Madness, Virginia Mountaineers lost against the Maryland Terrapins by 67-65 in the 2023 tournament.

Joe Alexander, Jevon Carter, Devin Ebanks, Jaysean Paige, and Jerry West are some of the West Virginia alumni who went on to play in the NBA.